Students bring very different backgrounds to the classroom. This week, I followed a student very different from myself.

This week, I had the opportunity to follow a student around that was very different from myself.  I chose to follow *Chris* a student that has an IEP for Asperger’s syndrome and bipolar disease.  He is in Mrs. *Thomas’* second period class, so I have had ample time to observe him as a student in her classroom.  It was valuable to see him interact with other students and other teachers throughout his day.

If *Chris* was given the opportunity, He would spend his time drawing and sketching all day.  One of the most constant comments he receives from teachers and special education aides is that he needs to put away his drawing tablet.  His aide takes notes for him and tries to keep him listening and paying attention.  I saw that some of the teachers did allow him to doodle in class because sometimes he seems to be still paying attention.  For example, although his eyes were down on his drawing tablet during the entire lecture he did ask what “kick the bucket” meant when a teacher used the phrase in her lecture.  So one can imagine he was listening for at least some of the class period.  He receives most of the normal accommodations for special education students with his type of IEP (taken out of class for tests, aide to take notes, special circumstances for behavioral problems).  He gets intensely irritated if he doesn’t want to follow directions but is told to and does not get his way.  Another thing that upsets him is a variation on routine.  He recognized me in his other classes and demanded to know “Why is she here?” I told him I was observing other teachers and he seemed ok with that.  I spoke with his case manager before I followed him and I was warned not to let him know I was there to watch him as it would really upset his routine.  Finally, in his IEP is a warning not to call the Resource Officer and instead contact his case manager.  My teacher to;d me it is because of an incident last year where he was taken to the ground and put in handcuffs.  This event really affected him to the point where even being near the Resource Officer sets him off even more.  He has a great relationship with his case manager in that any problems that happen, *Chris* goes straight to him to talk.  This is because his case manager worked with him in elementary school and therefore they have developed a very trusting relationship.  I have witnessed days where he goes into spells of believing he is a chipmunk or pharaoh.  He constantly is fidgeting and playing with his hands or small knick-knacks he brings to class.

Although he has many characteristics that seem very disadvantageous to his learning, I have seen him on task, asking questions, and attentive.  It is important for teachers to recognize what stimulates his attention and interest and use those tools to teach him.  I have noticed he is incredibly visual.  Any video clip that is played in class he is glued to the screen.  He looks at pictures that teachers put in their presentations and even tries to replicate them in his drawings.  Also if he develops a good relationship with the teacher, he is more apt to pay attention and listen to their directions.  For example, his math teacher had a great relationship with him where he did a fist pound after completing a quiz and felt more comfortable asking the teacher questions than asking his aide for help. Overall, I think this was a very valuable activity that allowed me to really get to know one of the students that may cause problems when I am trying to lead the class.